Erase cluster tips on individual files

Discuss proposed patches here.

Moderators: Eraser DevTeam, Eraser Moderators

Erase cluster tips on individual files

Postby cosmicnet » Sat May 15, 2010 1:23 am

Just like you can erase and erase on reboot, erase cluster tips for an individual file or collection of files would be really useful.
cosmicnet

Re: Erase cluster tips on individual files

Postby DavidHB » Sat May 15, 2010 10:29 am

Please enlighten me ... how? If you erase the cluster tips without also erasing free space, there is a near certainty that you will still have recoverable 'deleted' material.

David
I am not an Eraser programmer, but a long-time user; my views may not be the same as those of the Eraser programming team.
Before posting, please read the top 4 topics in the Eraser FAQ, which already provide many of the answers users need.
DavidHB
Eraser Wizard

Postby cosmicnet » Sat May 15, 2010 10:59 pm

If you know from other software that particular files cluster tip has sensitive data. For instance you've already done a complete wipe of free space, cluster tip has been missed in this file because of permission, system file, whatever. You drop the system attribute/change permissions and don't want to have to do another complete free space wipe when all you need to wipe is this particular files cluster tip.

Considering the functionality for wiping cluster tips is already in Eraser, without looking at the code directly (yet) I don't see that it would be much of an issue to add this feature. And it would be useful to people who find things in cluster tips that Eraser has missed.
cosmicnet

Postby DavidHB » Sun May 16, 2010 12:19 am

I see two significant problems here.