Ticket #35 (closed enhancement: fixed)

Opened 7 years ago

Last modified 5 years ago

Eraser leaving info after install

Reported by: jackjack Owned by: Joel
Priority: minor Milestone: Eraser 5.8.8
Component: Core Version: 5.8.6a
Keywords: Cc: lowjoel@…, gtrant@…
Processor Architecture: Blocked By:
Blocking: Operating System:

Description

http://bbs.heidi.ie/viewtopic.php?t=5194

Looks like the uninstaller is leaving a few bits and pieces behind.

When I uninsall eraser and re-install it (5.86 and 5.87b1). It remembers my scheduler tasks as well as their last run details.

Blocking

IdSummaryMilestone
#35Eraser leaving info after installEraser 5.8.8

Blocked by

IdSummaryMilestone
#35Eraser leaving info after installEraser 5.8.8

Change History

comment:1 Changed 7 years ago by jackjack

  • Priority changed from major to minor
  • Version set to 5.86a

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Shouldn't the app remember your settings?

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

  • Status changed from new to assigned
  • Owner set to Garrett

comment:4 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

  • Status changed from assigned to pending
  • Cc lowjoel@…, gtrant@… added

comment:5 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

  • Milestone set to Eraser 5.8.7

This is a 5.8.7 milestone thing, since its a 5.x problem.

comment:6 Changed 6 years ago by trac-robot

  • Status changed from pending to closed

This ticket was closed automatically by the system. It was previously set to a Pending status and hasn't been updated within 14 days.

comment:7 Changed 6 years ago by Overwriter

  • Status changed from closed to reopened
  • Component set to Core

Was this ever resolved ?

comment:8 follow-up: ↓ 9 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

No one replied as to whether this is a Good Thing or a Bad Thing since applications are supposed to remember settings. Especially after reinstallation?

comment:9 in reply to: ↑ 8 Changed 6 years ago by faithful

Replying to Joel:

No one replied as to whether this is a Good Thing or a Bad Thing since applications are supposed to remember settings. Especially after reinstallation?

The answer is simple: For reinstalls the settings (custom erasing methods, etc.) should be remembered and for final uninstalls they should be removed.

Would an option while running the uninstaller asking this question solve the problem? Another possibility: When the uninstaller was launched by a newer installer the settings can stay.

comment:10 Changed 6 years ago by jackjack

This is a bad thing. If I un-install an application I'm doing it for a reason and I want everything removed. If I plan on re-installing I backup the settings (where possible) and import, of course eraser doesn't import / export scheduled tasks but that's a whole 'nother ticket.

Best solution as faithful said would be to offer an option at uninstall time to remove all user created settings.

comment:11 Changed 6 years ago by Joel

The beta installers remove the information now. Ball's in your park Garrett.

comment:12 Changed 5 years ago by Joel

  • Status changed from reopened to accepted
  • Owner changed from Garrett to Joel

The final stable's behaviour is to ask the user whether he wants to remove the information from his system. However as part of the Local Profile problem (each user can only access his own files; local settings are part of that) only the user who is uninstalling the program will have his settings removed; all other users will not have the Eraser settings removed regardless of the deletion decision asked at uninstall.

comment:13 Changed 5 years ago by Joel

  • Status changed from accepted to closed
  • Resolution set to fixed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.