Deleted Before Use of Eraser

Seemer

New Member
I am transferring my PC with XP SP3 to a new owner and wish to delete my data files before delivering it. Unfortunately. I deleted many data files before discovering Eraser. I then downloaded and ran the stable 6.0.8.2273. I selected 7 passes and a single pseudorandom pass as default and then selected some additional smaller files to erase with this method. Very few runs took more than a couple of seconds. I suspect my pre-Eraser deleted files were not subject to the pseudorandom pass. Is there a way to wipe the space formerly occupied by say "My Documents" or the Outlook pst file even though it was merely "deleted" and not Erased?
 

Joel

Active Member
You're looking for a Unused Space Erase. Drop by the FAQ (the first post there is a good start) if you want other tips and tricks when using Eraser.
 
Top