Deleting unused disk space

iggy67

New Member
When I start to delete unused disk space do I turn on cluster tips
or leave it turned off. I've been running Eraser with cluster tip
not checked because I don't know if it will delete my whole hard drive.
What should I do? :? :? :?

— iggy67
 

Carver

Member
In edit/prefrences/eracing/unused Disk space you should have check mark in all three check boxs on that page.

Cluster tip
The unused area at the end of the last cluster allocated by a file is called the cluster tip (or the slack space). This unused area is present in most files because space can be allocated only as cluster sized blocks and the contents of the file rarely completely fill all allocated clusters.

The first time I did a freespace erase I was also unsure of what was being erased.
 
Top