erase unused space - not erase all old stuff?

webwilli

i erase my unused diskspace with this options:

erase.jpg

so i erase unused space on my data partion. after the procedure i check the partition with Active@ File Recovery for Windows. And i must see that the File Recovery Tool find many many pics (jpg, bmp, gif...) and much more data.

how is it possible? the pics was normally deleted. without eraser.

I think Eraser will only erase the files after Eraser was installed. I had the same problem when I first installed Eraser. What I did was create a folder on my desktop and using the file recovery tool, restore the files to a alternate location...the folder on my desktop. Then I erased the content of the folder. I don't think you can restore the file into the recyle bin, so the folder will have to do.

Hi, Carver!

It seems to me that freespace is freespace - whether generated prior or subsequent to Eraser installation (I could be wrong, I'm no expert).

At any rate, I've checked after Eraser runs with RecoverMyFiles (similar to Active@File Recovery), and it, too said there was a good possibility of "recovering" numerous files.

The problem with that claim was that RMF was also showing me at the same time that the file names themselves were blank (all zeroes), as were the contents of the files themselves.

This is what the author of that program says about "shredded" files:
http://forums.getdata.com/showpost.php? ... ostcount=2

So, unless the OP has actually restored some of these files that are supposedly recoverable, I'd tend to believe that they actually aren't recoverable.

I'd really like to see a screenshot of the results of what, exactly, the program he's referring to is showing. Pete

Carver said: