Record of Eraser

A

Anonymous

Guest
If I completely wipe the HD with Darik's Boot and Nuke and reinstall from my original Dell disks, is there any way that someone would be able to know that I wiped the drive? Is so, what steps should I take to prevent anyone from being able to tell that I nuked and reinstalled? Thanks!!
 

dajhorn

Member
It depends.

Microsoft product installations are uniqely identifiable. Things like the system GUID, WPA hashes, and NTFS volume serials will change when you reinstall the operating system.

A sophisticated hostile party that had prior information about your system state could determine whether you used DBAN and reinstalled the operating system. (eg: Hostiles with access to the registry, access to backups, access to Windows Update, etc.)

If your computer is participating in a domain, then this will be noticed.
 
Top