What is actually erased when I erase the recycle bin?

PackJac

New Member
I am using Windows XP. If I right click on the recycle bin and select "erase recycle bin," am I actually erasing the files that I deleted when I placed them in the recycle bin? Or am I simply erasing some index/pointer to the files?

I ask because it is very convenient to simply erase the recycle bin at the end of the day, particularly since I cannot use erase within many of my applications.

Thanks in advance.
 

Herewegoagain

New Member
Using logic I would assume it is the files themselves that are being erased.

Try putting a large file into recycle-bin and erase recycle bin. It takes a long time compared to when a smaller file is in there.

If only pointers were being erased this would not take such a long time.

Only my guess.
 
Top