DBAN problem - recycling reboot

feelingstupid

OK - just to warn you, I'm NOT technical by any stretch of the imagination. I'll try to explain this as best I can, but please bear with me.

I'm attempting to clean up an old machine for donation to a charity. I heard on a radio program last week that DBAN was free and worked really well and was really easy, and that I needed to do SOMETHING to clean the machine before it went out the door, so this seemed to be my answer.

I downloaded Darick's Boot and Nuke 1.0.7 from DBAN.sourceforge.net

I followed the instructions to load it to a floppy disk (the square ones). I powered up my machine - which says it's a CTX International with AMD-K6 MMX Enhanced Processor - with Windows 95 (4.00.950B) on it - with this floppy in the drive.

I first tried the "autonuke" option. It said: Loading kernel.bzi...... then Loading initrd.gz...... then Uncompressing Linux with LZMA..... then I can read OK, booting kernel - but the rest of the message goes away too fast to read. Then the machine started rebooting again and I saw things like Memory Checking and all the normal things that come up before the Windows 95 logo screen would normally come on --- except that instead of the logo, it goes back to the DBAN screen with the BOOT prompt.

So, it seemed like something was definitely wrong - so I went through all the things I could think of to try. I tried just pressing ENTER at the boot command. I tried using NOFLOPPY. I tried VERBOSE to see if I could read an error message. I tried some of the other commands like DOD and GUTMANN. Nothing made any difference, it just did the same thing over and over. I couldn't find a log file (but I'm not really sure where to look.)